Skip to main content

The Tjeerd de Jong contest 2011

Three students from the Master Animal Science of the University of Wageningen were nominated for the Tjeerd de Jong award 2011. All were in the final stages of their study and participated in the Masterclass Research Mastercluster. They all wrote a proposal for a research project they are willing to carry out with wich they competed for the prize.

The jury in 2011 consisted of two scientific members, professors at the university and a delegation of two men from the board of the foundation. The two scientific members of the jury were:

  • Prof. dr ir Bas Kemp – Directeur WIAS
  • Prof. dr ir Johan van Arendonk – Dean Wageningen Graduateschool

The two members of the jury representing the foundation were Professor dr Herre Kingma, chairman of the foundation and Mr Erik Meijer, member of the board responsible for monitoring the study progress.

Award ceremony Tjeerd de Jong contest 2011

On Friday 4 November 2011 the Council Chambers of the Administrative Center of the University of Wageningen were the scene of a very successful ceremony in which the Tjeerd de Jong 2011 prize was awarded. All who attended the ceremony came from the circle of former receivers of grants, employees of the university and relatives.

The attendants were welcomed by the chairman of the Executive Board of the University of Wageningen Dr Aalt Dijkhuizen. After his introductory speech Professor dr Johan van Arendonk talked about the procedural side of the ceremony. On behalf of the foundation Herre Kingma spoke about the history of the foundation.

Three students were nominated for the Tjeerd de Jong 2011 award. Ms Carmen Embregts was nominated with her research project for improving the immune system of fish. Ms Henrieke Tonkes was nominated with her research plan involving the research of plankton in the waters in the North Pole area. And Mr Corné Rademaker presented his research plan for reducing phosphorus in the feed for chickens.

All three held a presentation of a several minutes about their research plans before the audience. After every presentation the guests had the opportunity to ask questions. It must be said they made good use of this opportunity. The audience which partly consisted of laymen also asked non substantive questions which prooved to be a good exercise for the nominees.

After careful consideration Ms Henrieke Tonkes was chosen by the jury to be the winner of the Tjeerd de Jong contest 2011. Mr Corné Rademaker finished as runner up and Ms Carmen Embregts received a honorable third place.

Ms Henrieke Tonkes received the symbolic cheque of 2,000 euro flowers and the cup. She will spend the money getting her diving licence in order to be able research the waters in the North Pole area.

The jury decided to award the two other nominees a prize of 1,000 euro taken into account the high level of all the presentations and the research plans. Mr Corné Rademaker and Ms Carmen Emgbregts each received 1,000 euro with flowers and a cup. Mr Corné said that he wanted to finance a internship at the University of North Carolina. Mrs Carmen Embregts said she wanted to expand her knowledge at the University of Aberdeen.

Foundation ‘Stichting’ Gebroeders de Jong’s Leen wishes all three every success in their academic career and hopes the foundation helped them a bit in achieving their goals.

Below you will find a photo of the award winning ceremony. Next year the Tjeerd de Jong prize will be awarded again in cooperation with the University of Wageningen.


In the middle winner Ms Henrieke Tonkes flanked by Ms Carmen Emgberts and Mr Corné Rademaker together with board of the foundation short after awarding the Tjeerd de Jong prize 2011.